[Review] ‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard

Red_Queen

Title – ‘Red Queen’
Author – Victoria Aveyard
Published – July 2nd 2015 by Orion 
Pages – 383
Format – Paperback



Book Summary –

‘This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .’



Review –

*Warning – Contains spoilers*

Ok, so I’m not massively sure where to start this review. I guess the only thing I can say is that I love this book. It was such an awesome read. It was so beyond well written and I cannot wait for the life of me to get my hands on the next book. This novel was completely action packed and complex but in a way that it was easy to read. It had the right amount of explanation, enough that things made sense but not to much that it takes away from the story. The pace of the book also impressed me, I don’t think it had any particularly slow moments in my opinion which was probably a contribution to why I read it as fast as I did!

Mare is a wonderfully written character, one with a sense of maturity whilst also being incredibly naive when it came to certain points in the book. Her love of her family was sweet despite being known as the ‘black sheep’ in some aspects, her love of her best friend, Kilorn, is also very much adorable at the start of this book. She grows incredibly well throughout the book but never really looses sight of who she truly is or what she’s fighting for which is pleasant… basically I’m glad she manages to keep the snarky side of her personality not to far from the surface!

What I love is that despite the little snarky comedic moments there are featured in this book it has a lot of darker moments as well. They balance each other very very well. The first one present being Kilorn’s apparent parting, being sent to war when he and Mare had originally thought otherwise. Then Gisa losing use of her hand trying to help Mare save Kilorn from his departure.

But the darkest moment of all was the novel’s major plot twist. Maven’s betrayal hit me hard, completely blew my mind. I had expected some kind of twist to come from within but I most certainly hadn’t expected it to be him. I thought of anyone it was going to end up being the Queen, Elara, which in part is true but I didn’t expect her son Maven to play a part. It was definitely a shock and the way in which he presented his true character in those later chapters was incredibly well written, it had me gripped to the point where I couldn’t stop reading!

This book was incredible and I am beyond glad I picked it up for sure! I think my next book purchase will definitely be the next book in the series, ‘Glass Sword’, I cannot wait to see how the story progresses and how the characters grow. Especially Cal, who I think is my favourite character, as he has such a loving heart. Although it doesn’t always seem like it.

Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? Yes!!
Will I be reading the next two books in the series? You can count on it!
Am I completely in love with this book? So in love!


[I rate this book 5/5 stars – or 15/5 stars if I could]

2 thoughts on “[Review] ‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Lynn says:

    I just finished Red Queen today and loved it, too. I didn’t see it coming either with Maven but when I thought about it there were hints all along with “he is his mother’s son” type of warnings. It was so well-done though, it all fit with his character. Cool to see you loved it so much. I might be buying the sequels myself. I got my eye out for Cruel Crown, too!

    Like

    • mediashadowreads says:

      It was really well done I have to agree with you there! I’ll hopefully be getting Glass Sword sometime this month and I’m massively looking forward to reading it! And you’re not the only one who’s got their eye out for Cruel Crown as well!! I might get it after all the main books are out and read though… not sure yet! Thank you for your comment by the way!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

