[Review] ‘Delirium’ by Lauren Oliver

bookcover_home_delirium@2x_New

Title – ‘Delirium’
Author – Lauren Oliver
Published – August 11th 2011 by Hodder (New cover edition published 2016)
Pages – 393
Format – Paperback



Book Summary –

‘They say that the cure for love will make me happy and safe forever. And I’ve always believed them. Until Now.

There was a time when love was the most important thing in the world. People would go to the end of the earth to find it. They would tell lies for it. Even kill for it.

But now love has been declared a dangerous disease.

Everyone who turns eighteen must be immunised with a procedure called the cure. Lena Haloway is looking forward to being able to live the safe, predictable life the government claims the cure will bring. But meeting Alex, an enigmatic boy from the Wilds, might just maker her question everything she’s been raised to believe’



Review –

*Warning – Contains spoilers*

Honestly I wish I could like this book more than I did. I wish I could give it a good rating because I do like my dystopian novels but the pacing just completely threw me off. This book too far too long, in my opinion, to get started. The real action on really started to get interesting right towards the end of book. It basically took me a massive amount of effort to stay focused, to keep reading.

The plot was good but the way in which is was delivered was just too slow. Too much detail was put into elements that didn’t need it and then the author skipped over what I would have thought would have been major scenes. For example the time when Lena first stepped over to the Wilds with Alex. It was all over and done with so quickly that it made you wonder if it really happened. It was made out to be nothing of importance but I believe it should have been told in far more detail… there wasn’t enough exploration in that particular moment. No mentioning of other ‘invalids’ and no meeting of them. As if they didn’t exist in the first place.

Everything in this book was very much predictable. And that would have been ok had it been written in a way to keep me gripped… but it just didn’t really do that. Alex and Lena as characters where pleasant and acceptable but even they could have been given a little more depth. The relationship between the two of them could have done with a bit more of a spark as well in all honesty, something about it and the way it was written was just very off for me. In actual fact the only relationship that I believe was written well was that between Lena and her best friend Hana.

The ending too was very predictable, slightly unbelievable too in my honest opinion. Lena should have very easily been shot or injured just as Alex had been. Their escape, well Lena’s escape, just seemed too easy. And I just didn’t get that heartbreaking feeling from Lena as she was forced to flee and leave Alex behind.

Now I’m not saying the author writing is bad because it isn’t. The main element that let this book down for me was simply the pace at which it progressed. The story is interesting enough that I will most likely purchase the next book in the series, that and the fact I hate to leave a series unfinished. I do hope the action and the pace picks up in the next book because like I’ve previously stated the plot does have interesting elements. It’s just a matter of how they’re delivered.

Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? Dystopian lovers may like this…
Will I be reading the next two books in the series? Simply because I like the idea then probably.
Am I completely in love with this book? No where near I’m afraid. 


[I rate this book 2/5 stars]

Leave a Reply

