August Wrap-Up 2016

Ok, so I’ve got to admit I didn’t get as many ‘physical‘ book reads as I’d hoped. I initially had a set list of 6 books (Glass Sword, Illuminae, A Court of Mist and Fury, An Ember in the Ashes, The Unexpected Everything and finally Rebel of the Sands) of which I only managed to read four of them. I did however finally hop on board the ebook train and may have developed a slight obsession with them… it’s just so handy to have a ebook to flick through for those random moments of the day that you have nothing to do. So I went from never reading an ebook in my life in July to reading a whole 6 of them in August. Yeah… think I’m a little obsessed? I think so too! 

All of the books I read this month were amazing reads! I didn’t rate any of them under a 3 star which was good. There were even a couple of 5 star reads in there as well… to be honest you can probably guess which of the physical books I’ve read got a 5 star rating from me! Anyhow, down to business, starting with the physical books I read this month!


23174274
Glass Sword‘ by Victoria Aveyard

My thoughts;
This book was a wonderful sequel to the first book ‘Red Queen’ (which is officially one of my favourite books of all time). I like that we got to see a different perspective of sorts, the perspective of the ‘reds’, what they stand for and how they are fighting back. Mare’s development in this book was wonderful and I’m glad she got to kick some ass!

My rating⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ [5/5 Stars]

My full review; (Coming up soon)


23766623

A Court of Mist and Fury‘ by Sarah J. Maas

My thoughts;
I remember wondering what all the hype around this book was, especially after personally loving ACOTAR I wondered how people could think this book was better. It was. Rhysand has officially become my book crush of the century. He was ultimately the stand out character of this book and was shown in a completely different light as the book progressed. I also loved Feyre’s character development in this book and how easily she fit in with Rhysand’s ‘Inner Circle’. I officially can’t wait for the next book!

My rating⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ [5/5 Stars]

My full review; HERE


24934065
Rebel of the Sands‘ by Alwyn Hamilton

My thoughts;
This book was an odd one for me. I loved the setting and the story line itself was amazing and had such potential. But ultimately the characters just let it down… they didn’t stand out for me personally and I found there were too many characters being introduced too quickly. So much so that it was hard to keep up with who was who. It didn’t help with the terminology either, it was rather complex at times and certain elements were so similar I hard to really concentrate on splitting them up. Overall, it was an ok book… but whilst I wished I could have loved it… I just didn’t.

My rating⭐⭐⭐ [3/5 Stars]

My full review; HERE


27774758

An Ember in the Ashes‘ by Sabaa Tahir

My thoughts;
This book was amazing and was another that actually lived up to the hype surrounding it. It was action packed from start to finish with a wonderfully intense story line and plenty of character development. Just what I like! No but seriously this book was incredibly well written, I got through it in a day… I genuinely had a hard time putting it down! The fact that the next book’s release is soon close is so exciting, I can’t wait to see how Laia and Elias’ relationship develops!

My rating⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ [5/5 Stars]

My full review; HERE


Now it’s on to the ebooks I read this month! I don’t currently have any reviews posted for these books below and I’m currently unsure whether I’ll actually end up writing reviews for them at all. So unfortunately for now you’ll have to just stick with these until I choose otherwise! 😀


17789310

Angelfall‘ by Susan Ee

My thoughts;
I love anything to do with angels and this was a book that had initially caught my eye because of its cover. I’d heard mixed reviews but I’m glad I thought ‘screw it’ and purchased this book. I had a fair amount of action and story progression, although I think more background information could have been offered in regards to what happened when the angels first fell. It was a predictable book… but I liked it! Like I said… anything with angels, magical creatures and any kind of ‘fantasy’ element is right up my alley! Looking forward to reading the next book for sure.

My rating⭐⭐⭐⭐ [4/5 Stars]


26884722

Inception‘ by Bianca Scardoni

My thoughts;
You can’t go wrong with vampires and demons and people who can shape shift really! Well… you can, but this book didn’t! I really enjoyed this book! The characters were well written and the story line was easy to follow. The twist at the end left me seething and I’ll be honest in saying I bought the next book immediately after finishing this and started on that one within 10 minutes! That how hooked I was! A great debut novel with a wonderful amount of supernatural elements and a diverse love line as well!

My rating; ⭐⭐⭐⭐ [4/5 Stars]


30283958

Invidious‘ by Bianca Scardoni

My thoughts;
As mentioned previously I’d bought and started reading this book straight after finishing the first in the series. In this book we see Jemma grow up a huge amount after the turmoil of the first book. We also get a huge of amount of explanation into why the cliffhanger at the end of the first book happened and why it ‘had’ to happen. Turns out Trace isn’t a bad guy after all! But honestly I can’t wait to continue this series… I can see why it wouldn’t be up everyone’s streets but it most certainly was up mine!

My rating; ⭐⭐⭐⭐ [4/5 Stars]


8153566

The Iron King‘ by Julie Kagawa

My thoughts;
Again with the fantasy… I know, I know… I’ve been obsessed with it this month. This book was one I hadn’t heard much about and didn’t go into expecting much. Maybe that’s why I fell so massively in love with it! So much magic and mystery and action. Megan is such a wonderful character… Puck (aka. Robin) too is amazing in this book and then there’s Ash. Wonderful Ash… Ash who was the villain and then turned out to be a knight in shining armor… kind of! If you like you magical creatures I highly suggest starting this series!

My rating⭐⭐⭐⭐ [4/5 Stars]


8526821

The Iron Daughter‘ by Julie Kagawa

My thoughts;
After finishing The Iron King I couldn’t wait to see how Megan’s story progressed! The love line development in this book was amazing! At one point the reader is left wondering if Ash really does care for Megan as he’d stated he did in the first book. But don’t fret… he sure does care. So much so that he’s willing to be exiled for Megan. And Megan is so in love with Ash that she won’t let him go alone! So sweet! But then there’s poor Puck who I love dearly as well! My gosh this story line was amazing! So magical and dark and even more magical!

My review; ⭐⭐⭐⭐ [4/5 Stars]


8685612

The Iron Queen‘ by Julie Kagawa

My thoughts;
This book left me in tears at some points. Literally! Towards the end of the book I was crying my eyes out! Unlike the previous two books I felt this one took more of an emotional toll on me. We got to see Megan develop even more in this book and we also got to see the lengths her and Ash would go to to keep each other safe. They are literally so awesome together so when the ending came about… it broke me. I can’t wait to read the next book. I want Ash and Megan to be reunited (along with Puck). I also want to give an honorable mention to Grimalkin who was such a wonderfully sassy cat!

My rating; ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ [5/5 Stars]


So that concludes my August wrap up! I’m really satisfied with the amount of books I read this month and can’t wait to continue on with some of the series’ mentioned above. I can’t believe it’s the end of summer already… and I didn’t read a single ‘summer themed’ book! I’m such a fantasy loving reader, much more so than I think I even realised. Let me know if you’ve read the books above and what your thoughts on them were. Equally let me know what you read/how many books you read this month. I’m curious~!

Anyhow here’s on to September!

Leave a Reply

