Book Haul [September #1]

IMG_20160904_123958[1]We all know that ‘lovely‘ feeling when we tell ourselves to go easy on the book buying for the next month… well, as it is that usually doesn’t last for a lot of us. I’m bad at sticking to a limit when buying books and in the past couple of days I have acquired 11 new books (granted some of them were ordered at the end of August.. but still).

I managed to get myself a couple of bargain buys, managed to finish a series and start a new one. The books I’ve gotten range quite widely but I’m excited for every single one of them! 


51JcQ+pWp0L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_First off I managed to get the box set of Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instrument series for a bargain price of £12 (technically £15 including shipping). I got it for a place called ‘The Works‘ and for anyone in the UK I highly suggest checking them out for some bargain books… they don’t have latest releases or anything of that range however they have some wonderful box sets and a whole range of classics I was incredibly tempted to buy.

Now in terms of the series itself… I actually already owned the first 4 books in the old UK covers but really wanted all the books before I started on them. Plus I really wanted this box set… it’s utterly stunning and genuinely can’t wait to marathon all these books!

That’s 6 books down and 5 more to go. The next order came in from good ol’ Amazon – which is my go to place to buy books! I’d noticed on there that they had a ‘deals of the week‘ page and I figured I’d have a look. You can imagine my surprise when I saw Jay Kristoff’s still rather new release Nevernight in hardback for a measly £6.50… I just had to snap it up. I don’t buy hardbacks often because of their price so I had to jump at this offer to be fair.

throwing-papers-up-in-airAnd to make it so I could get free shipping I added Alexandra Bracken’s In the Afterlight to my basket. I absolutely adored the first 2 books in the Darkest Minds trilogy and am most certainly looking forward to reading the conclusion… I was waiting on it to go down in price but I just figured… stuff it. Why not?!

And the finally I ordered and received the books pictured in the very top of this post. I finally got my very first classic – Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice which I am very much looking forward to reading. I’ve got to say my experience with classics is rather limited unfortunately but I’d like to think that in time that’ll change. And this is the first step… I reckon I’ll enjoy it massively as I’m a massive lover of the movie.

tumblr_inline_o8tovjQlKp1rwyi6j_500The next book was the 4th book in the Harry Potter series – Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling (another popular series I have yet to start). As it is I think my brain just likes the idea of having a complete series on my shelf before I pick up the first one… that and the fact I’m a massive book hoarder. Yep… self confessed book buying addict right here. But I will get round to them. I must.

And finally is the first book in Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series – Northern Lights. This is a series I’ve been dying to read for a long time.. again based on seeing the movie and then realising the likely hood of it being continued was pretty much non-existent. Therefore I must continue the story in book form. I know I’m going to enjoy this one… the idea of spirit animals is always something I’ve been massively into so yeah… this is the book I’m most excited about reading for sure!


Questions of the day:

  • What books have you hauled recently?
  • How many books do you usually haul in a month?

 

Thanks for reading guys~!

7 thoughts on “Book Haul [September #1]

      • Beth says:

        Haha same I’ve only been blogging for 3 months! It’s given me a chance to meet so many book lovers it’s great 😀 I can’t wait to see more of your posts and reviews!

        Like

      • mediashadowreads says:

        Yeah I’ve only been blogging a month or 2 now… but I’ve only really come into my own this past 2 or so weeks… it’s great to see this part of the book community!! And thank you, I will keep an eye out for your posts too lovely! 🙂

        Like

    • mediashadowreads says:

      I reckon I will – that whole story line is amazing so I can’t wait to read the novel behind the movie (which is one of my favourites!!) – and I have to admit I do really want to read the ‘zombies’ version.. it does sound pretty cool! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

