[Review] ‘The Graces’ by Laure Eve

25365584Title – ‘The Graces’
Author – Laure Eve
Published – September 1st 2016 by Faber & Faber
Pages – 432
Format – Paperback



Book Summary –

‘Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?



Review –

*Warning – Contains spoilers*

As much as I’d seen this book dotted around various social media platforms I hadn’t actually heard much about the book itself. The blurb very much caught my eye as it was something essentially right up my alley. I tend to find stories which include ‘witches’ are just generally quite exciting and adventurous… and this, while actually not being quite as one would expect, was most certainly both of those things in my opinion.

I’ll be honest in saying that the first part of this book very much gave me a Twilight (by Stephanie Meyer) vibe. Whilst there were obviously no vampires in this book it was the setting and layout of the initial story line which instantly allowed me to make a connection. The new girl in school gets intrigued and interested in the family who everyone knows and wants to know more about. The idea that this family is essentially more than meets the eye and are different from what they allow everyone else to think.

I think it was the hints that River’s character dropped about her ever so slightly shady past, particularly in terms of her father, that kept me reading and kept me wanting to know more. I think it wasn’t hard to see that River had some kind of gift or power hidden within her… it was just too suspicious and the hints dropped throughout the booked supported it as well. I liked that the author held on to the very end to give us the detail about River and what she could do… by that point it was pretty obvious that something was up but the confirmation and the explanation behind it was definitely given at the right time.

In terms of the characters themselves… River was obviously the standout character for me, she was never particularly over shadowed by any of the characters and had some really intriguing elements to her personality. At some points she seems really laid back and rather ‘chill’ but in others she came across as rather ‘dark minded’. Especially when it was eventually revealed that she could essentially make people disappear and had used that on her own father as well as other’s, like Wolf for example. Marcus and Summer were the other characters that really caught my attention. Summer was so sweet and such an awesome friend… she had a certain innocence about her, despite the ‘witch’ background and some questionable actions she’d done. Marcus was almost the complete opposite… he was painted very much as the bad guy, as the guy who was dangerously obsessed. Which to a point he was… but he was also massively misunderstood. I liked that River sought him out at the end of the book, the two outcasts bound together somewhat.

I liked the way this story developed, I really enjoyed the fact it switched it’s focus initially from the Grace siblings to River herself and the story behind her. I also massively enjoyed that this book had no real solid love line, that the attraction between River and Fenrin had been incredibly misguided and short lived. Although the fact that the siblings had turnt so violently on River did make me dislike them towards the end of the book… I guess I just had more sympathy for River, what she’d been through and what she was trying to achieve. It did feel like River had lost more than she’d gained by the end of the book, although I liked the slightly darker turn she seemed to have made… it’ll be interesting to see how it progresses in the next book.

If I was to sum up this book… I wouldn’t know how. Honestly. Not because it wasn’t good or because the story line isn’t easy to explain but simply because I know this book simply wouldn’t do it for some people. I get the feeling this is very much a love it or hate it kind of book. It’s predictable in certain aspects, has similar situations to other books and actually isn’t massively action packed.. but it has a certain intriguing side to it which I think would keep a lot of people reading. It’s not a complicated read, it’s easy enough to follow and understand. It’s a solid book in my opinion. What’s funny is the fact I read this book in one sitting and despite that can’t put my finger on what exactly kept me from being able to put this book down. But there was most certainly something.

My favourite quote (and the last paragraph of the book);

‘I am what you become when you decide that what you are is good enough. I’m tired of trying to be less. I no longer wonder whether something like me should be allowed to exist.

I do exist. I do exist.
They think I’m powerful?
They haven’t seen a fucking thing yet.’

Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? I personally enjoyed it massively
Will I be reading the next book in the series? Yep!
Am I completely in love with this book? Not massively far off to be honest!

[I rate this book 4/5 stars]


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

One thought on “[Review] ‘The Graces’ by Laure Eve

Leave a Reply

