[Review] ‘The Witch’s Kiss’ by Katherine & Elizabeth Corr

29984535Title – ‘The Witch’s Kiss’
Author – Katherine & Elizabeth Corr
Published – June 30th 2016 by Harper Collins
Pages – 424
Format – Paperback


Book Summary –

Sixteeen-year-old Meredith is fed-up with her feuding family and feeling invisible at school – not to mention the witch magic that shoots out of her fingernails when she’s stressed. Then sweet, sensitive Jack comes into her life and she falls for him hard. The only problem is that he is periodically possessed by a destructive centuries-old curse. Meredith has lost her heart, but will she also lose her life? Or in true fairytale tradition, can true love’s kiss save the day?


Review –

*Warning – Contains minor spoilers*

Ok, so this book had a really good base… and one which I don’t think is seen enough now days. The idea of witches, mythical creatures and all kinds of fantasy based elements within a modern day world. Its a idea that I love the sound of and would love to explore further to be frank. But did this book pull that concept off to it’s fullest ability. Probably not. Now… that’s not to say I hated the book. I didn’t, however I also didn’t love it.

The book started off rather promising, it had the right pace and the right level of detail to keep me interested. The epilogue if you would definitely caught my attention and made it seem as if the book was going to be a epic roller coaster ride… which… at some points it did pull off. I liked Merry’s character at the start of the book and I also massively enjoyed Leo’s character, despite him starting out as the apparently ‘irresponsible one’ briefly, their tongue and cheek attitude towards each other was refreshing. They were somewhat typical siblings whilst actually having a far from typical background and family history… their maternal side being from a witches coven and what not.

Like I’ve already said I liked the pace at the start of the story, I liked the fact we kind of got thrown into the magic element of things straight away with the discovery of the trinket box full of… well… magical trinkets. The story and the darkness and the discovery of this old tale going back many generations was intriguing and gripping… its just a shame that the story wasn’t as action packed as I’d hoped.

Initially the discovery of Jack was incredibly interesting and did entail some action but I found once the initial confusion and meeting phase had passed the pace towards the middle of the book slowed down massively. To a point where I did struggle somewhat to keep going. It seemed as if a lot of time passed with no kind of progress being made in any direction. Jack would come out of the lake, Merry and Leo would talk to him, chat like typical teenage friends… then the King of Hearts would start to take over and Merry would cast a spell which forced him back into the lake. This sequence repeated itself a lot… and when I mean a lot… I mean, as in for a good amount of chapters that’s all that seemed to be happening… with some minor differences of course.

The book did start to spice up towards the end though, when the pace picked up once again and some progress was being made on Merry and Leo’s part. The turning point was when the siblings mother has worked out what was going on and had taken them away from their home in order to try and keep them safe… that obviously didn’t work out so well for Merry. Because of the fact she was tied to the land and curse… she became ill and it took some time before her mother realised she was doing more harm than good. It was then that the pace really started to pick up.

Although I must admit I expected the ending part of the book to be darker and more intense.. with Merry and Leo entering Gwydion’s lair as it was. But the ease of which they entered and sauntered around the place definitely made it feel easier than, in reality, it should have been considering they were dealing with a very powerful wizard. It also felt like the wizard himself didn’t put up as much of a fight as I would have expected… I felt like there should have been this epic showdown of power but it somewhat fell short in my opinion. I did like that Jack did actually die (apparently)… in a lot of similar novels you find the love interest who dies always finds some kind of way to come back… like ‘true loves kiss’, but the fact that didn’t work in this story was somewhat refreshing. Plus, as much as I liked Jack I wasn’t massively attached to his character and his relationship with Merry was pretty much just based on the fact she was similar to her ancestor Meredith, it didn’t feel genuine.

In summery, this book was… ok. It wasn’t amazing but I got through it and found myself easily picturing the scenes in my head. I think had there been some more detail and some more action then this book would have gripped me far more… it just felt too… easy. I massively enjoyed Leo’s character and was surprised when he didn’t end up with any magic himself, as that’s what I had thought would happen throughout the book, and I’m glad Merry believed in herself and her magic in the end. It was sad that Jack ‘died’ although something tells me he’ll be back one way or another… especially with the ending scene with Merry at the lake. I have a feeling that’ll be the direction of the next book, which I will be reading despite not falling in love with this book. However the sequel definitely won’t be at the top of my purchase list unfortunately.


Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? I would… but I wouldn’t shove it in anyone’s face and tell them they just HAD to read this book.
Am I completely in love with this book? No… unfortunately not…
Will I be reading the next book in the series? Yeah.. why not..

images

[I rate this book 2.5/5 stars]


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

One thought on “[Review] ‘The Witch’s Kiss’ by Katherine & Elizabeth Corr

  1. Jasmine says:

    Glad to see your rating is a 2.5 stars because I saw this book on NetGalley. It will save me from reading it. I thought books published by Harper Collins are usually good. Thank you for your time to read and review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

