[Review] ‘Nemesis’ by Anna Banks

27414431Title – ‘Nemesis’
Author – Anna Banks
Published – October 4th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
Pages – 368
Format – Hardback

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery


Book Summary –

‘Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?


Review –

*Warning – Contains spoilers*

I actually received this book in my November Fairy Loot box so initially had absolutely no clue what it was about.. I hadn’t previously heard of it or of it’s author Anna Banks, however I’ll admit in saying that the synopsis did pull me in and make me curious. And so began my adventure into reading Nemesis.

I like how this book was started, we were thrown straight into Sephora’s escape, straight into her thoughts and feelings with only snippets of background information. It definitely made for an intriguing start and one that certainly captured my interest. We find out very quickly that Sephora is a princess on the run from her farther… King Eron. The king seems to fall under the typical ‘evil’ king/queen malarkey and so as expected it’s the children that have to take the plunge and make a change. And this change essentially threw off what was already an unstable balance. Why? Because of Sephora’s gift for creating spectorium… a powerful source of energy for all, however her father has found a way to weaponize it and has chosen that it shall be used to initiate war between the kingdoms. And so Sephora, as someone who simply wants peace, takes herself and the spectorium she can create away from her farther’s sinister hands. And where better place to go than the kingdom of what Sephora has grown to believe is her, and her kingdoms, nemesis.

I liked the pace of this book, especially in the first selection of chapters… the escape and then capture, the meeting of the parani and so on. It had a lot of elements, bits and bobs thrown at you with the un-surety of whether or not they were going to be relevant to the upcoming story line. It essentially kept the reader very much on its toes. There was however one element that I did struggle with that begin towards the start of the book… the building of the scenery and the area… I just couldn’t picture it. The character building was brilliant but it just felt like the descriptions of the surrounding areas were a bit… lack luster. Possibly a map at the front of the book would have helped greatly with this… but even then, the actual image that I should have of these places… simply isn’t there. It’s a shame that in reality I can’t visualise the whole setting of this book, I think it has some of the right ingredients for an amazing setting… they simply weren’t mixed in the right way to create that full picture. Which was a shame.

The story, in my opinion, progressed wonderfully and the writing itself was incredibly easy to read and follow, it wasn’t choppy for me like some books can be. Every scene was relevant in some way or another… essentially everything had its place. The underlying element of angst was wonderfully placed, you always knew something could go horribly wrong or that Sephora was going to get found out by Tarik, or that something horrid in general was going to happen. You also knew that Sephora and Tarik’s relationship was going to get extremely complicated… as it was it was a choice between what was best for the kingdoms or what was best for the heart. Love never comes easy these days.

I honestly don’t think I could pick a favourite out of the two main characters, both had some wonderful charms to them. Both ultimately only wanted what was best for their people. Sephora was snarky at times and incredibly upfront but was also smart and willing whereas Tarik was the calm and more ‘level headed’ of the two in my opinion… he definitely made a wonderful ruler, one who cared deeply for his people.. despite not necessarily wanting the title of ruler in the first place.

I think it’s a shame the two had to part ways (and then come together again) in the way they did.. but as it was it was only a matter of time before things to crack. With the oncoming threat of war and a plague of some kind to deal with it was hardly surprising to be fair. However in there parting I do believe Sephora was somewhat unfair to Tarik… as it was I could completely understand were Tarik was coming from in his opinions. He didn’t want war… or to have his people fight, that much you could easily tell… but he also wasn’t naive to the fact that he’d have to fight back in order to defend his kingdom from any immediate future attacks.

The ending of this book completely caught me off guard… it was also one of the reasons I decided to take away a star. It simply ended. Just when things were beginning to get real juicy… it just ended… it left you craving more, turning the page to find that there wasn’t any more. It was horrid… I wanted to read more. To find out how Tarik and Sephora would develop with their relationship, I want to find out what King Eron has up his sleeves and what his plans entailed. I’d also like to see what kind of part the parani and the plague play in this story… because a lot of time was dedicated to those elements without a set idea of where they’d be involved in the future. So it’ll most definitely be interesting to see how those areas develop in the next book… and frankly I need the next book now!

So yes, I will definitely be keeping my eye out for the sequel to this novel. It’s pace was wonderful throughout all the way up until the end. The story line itself was incredibly interesting to me and the writing style very much helped that element of things. I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of developments will come about in the next book… it’ll be interesting to see if Tarik and Sephora do eventually come together. Basically this book leaves you with an awful lot of questions… and not many ideas on how they’ll be answered. Which, in reality, for a book that’s part of a series, is actually a clever element to play out. It makes you want to get the next book… just to find out what happens… and I can honestly say I’m going to be one of those people for sure.


Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? I would… It’s detailed and has lots of mystery elements which keeps you on your toes.
Am I completely in love with this book? Love might be pushing it but I am a fan!
Will I be reading the next book in the series? Why yes of course! 

[I rate this book 4/5 stars]


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

2 thoughts on “[Review] ‘Nemesis’ by Anna Banks

Leave a Reply

