[Review] ‘Truthwitch’ by Susan Dennard

25187640Title – ‘Truthwitch’
Author – Susan Dennard
Published – January 5th 2016 by Tor Teen
Pages – 415
Format – Hardback

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery


Book Summary –

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.


Review –

*Warning – Contains spoilers*

I’m always automatically intrigued by anything with any kind of high fantasy element included and this book definitely seemed to be able to fill that particular requirement. As it is I’m not one to go looking into reviews and details about a particular book… at the end of the day, if the synopsis catches my attention then the likely hood is I’ll get and read the book.

And this is one of those book I’m very much glad I picked up. I’d heard a lot of good things about it and I must say my first impressions were incredibly positive and that was a feeling which luckily actually continued on till the end. One of this books strongest elements for me personally was actually the writing style… it flowed incredibly well in my opinion and was well structured and laid out. It was basically very easy to follow. There was enough detail there so the reader was able to imagine a particular scene well without it being to much of an overload… as it is… I’m a reader that likes to be able to fill in my own gaps when it comes to particular elements. So basically, a round of applause to Dennard and her wonderful writing style… it made this book even more pleasant to read and get through.

Another element of this book that I adored was that, whilst there was some romantic elements within the book, it focused more on Safi and Iseult friendship and strong bond. It never strayed away from the strength of the two of them being ‘threadsisters’. I also enjoyed that we got to briefly see the male counterpart (ie. ‘threadbrothers’) via Prince Merik and Kullen and was somewhat saddened by the outcome of their particular relationship. Although something tells me that it’s not quite the end of Kullen as we have been lead to believe.

Talking of Merik… what a wonderful character. Despite his ‘bite’ at times his underlying reason for taking his chances, when it came to Safi and Iseult, was simply sweet. The simple desire to help his people, to feed his people made him out to be a wonderful man and Prince and possibly a wonderful future King? The fact that towards the end of the book we got to see Merik on his homeland and able to see progress being made and smiles being formed on the faces of his people was incredibly touching. And it’s at this part of the story we see Safi come to a real realisation that the contract that temporarily bounds them must be fulfilled… for the sake of a whole country as well as her heart. For if it hadn’t have been fulfilled… I imagine guilt would have easily eaten away at Safi. Especially with her heart calling out for the Princeling as it had started to do towards the later half of the book.

I think it was the story of the characters in this book… and the relationships between them that really came across strongly for me. Because whilst there was a far amount of action and some incredibly strong scenes it was the subtle moments that touched me the most. The strength of Safi and Iseult’s friendship, the strength of Merik and Kullen’s friendship… the growing fondness between Safi and Merik… the bitterness within the bloodwitch Aeduan… the sibling rivalry between Merik and Viva… all the relationships that are hinted are also ones which could very easily be exaggerated in the next books. I’m looking forward to seeing what particular characters have to do in the later books. For example I’m looking forward to seeing what part the un-named ‘cleaver witch’, that was speaking to Iseult via her dreams, has to play in the future plot.

I’m also looking forward to seeing more magic… I feel like the idea of witchery in this book was actually more subtly put across than what I imagined… whilst, obviously, this book in particular surrounded Safi and her rare witchery, her being a truthwitch, it isn’t written in a way that forced down the readers throats… its mentioned and has it’s moments but it never seemed to get all of the spotlight. Or at least… it was never written in a way that felt like it.

I’m definitely looking forward to getting my hands on the next book… now that the ’20 year truce’ has officially ended I’m looking forward to seeing a more action packed stage being set. I’m also curious to see how Safi and Iseult end up reunited and if the pair get reunited with Merik as well. It’ll also being interesting to see how Aeduan feature’s in the next book… especially with the revelation towards the end of the novel on who his father is. There are a lot of question’s and loose ends to tied up (for example; where on earth has Prince Leopold disappeared off to and what exactly was his game?) and I think that was the only reason I couldn’t give this book 5 stars… there was JUST too many little loose ends… but despite that… I do get the feeling we’ll be getting a lot of those ends tied up in the next book, which I most definitely be getting to shortly… you can count on that!


Would I suggest this book to other bookworms? Yes! The writing style is incredibly easy to follow and the characters are wonderfully written…
Am I completely in love with this book? In love with Merik indeed… 
Will I be reading the next book in the series? Yep! 

images

[I rate this book 4.5/5 stars]


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

2 thoughts on “[Review] ‘Truthwitch’ by Susan Dennard

  1. Lauren says:

    I almost pic
    I almost bought Truthwitch at B&N yesterday but then at the last minute I grabbed King’s Cage. I wasn’t sure if I would love Truthwitch enough for myself, although, now I’m kind of regretting it haha.

    I’m so so so glad that the romance element isn’t front and center. I rather a friendship progress instead. I’m also glad that the story really focuses on the characters. Sometimes books are so focused on setting and plot that they neglect character building.

    Great review 🙂

    Lauren @ bookslaying.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • mediashadowreads says:

      Tbh I think if it was between Truthwitch and King’s Cage at that moment I probably would have picked King’s Cage as well… but that’s also because I’m a massive fan of the series! You can always pick it up another time… to be honest I find it’s sometimes better to be a little behind with some books.. but that’s just me!

      The romance definitely isn’t ‘strong’ in this book… you can see it coming and its more of a subtle build up that doesn’t get the chance to fully take off.. (I won’t say more than that for now). And yes the characters are the main focus… you get enough elements of the setting and plot to be able to picture and follow along but it never takes the spot light from the characters… not for me anyway!

      I hope you get round to getting hold of and reading this book too… I imagine if you think you’ll like King’s Cage then you’ll probably like this.

      Thank you! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

