[Book Tag] The ‘Aesthetically Pleasing’ Book Tag

pleasingbg.png

Hey what’s up bookworms! I’ve been absent from this blog for the past 2 weeks and I apologise for that… as it was… I just lost a lot of motivation and didn’t have any ideas on what to write. My reading has suffered massively these past 2 weeks so I didn’t even have any reviews I could write and put up. But fingers crossed I’ll get out of my little slump quickly.

Because of said slump I decided to hunt around for some book tags and found this gem – the ‘aesthetically pleasing’ book tag by Book Syrup over on YouTube and you can watch the original video -> HERE <-

So without waiting any longer… lets begin!


*Quick note…. I decided to do this tag using only the physical books I own rather than what I’ve seen around etc*


1. Best colour combo on a book cover.

20170605_114749

 

I absolutely adore when book covers have a mixture of different blues swirled together… even more so when they add hints of purple and pink into the mix.

Lauren Kate’sTeardrop‘ has such a wonderful mix of different shades of blue with hints of purple, white and pink.

 

 


2. Best typography/font on a book cover.

20170605_114837

 

There’s no doubt I adore pretty much all of Maggie Stiefvater’s book covers… all of the ones I personally own are genuinely stunning.

The font on ‘Linger‘ in particular is a favourite element of mine, I’ve always been a fan of creative and non-standard fonts and the drip effect on this cover is beautiful.

 


3. Best simple cover.

20170605_115034

 

 

I so do love this simple cover of ‘The Shadow Queen‘ by C. J. Redwine. The black apple image works perfectly along side the title that’s been carved into it.

Simple but elegant.

 

 


4. Best end pages.

20170605_115141

 

I’ll be honest in saying that I don’t own a massive amount of hardbacks and many of them don’t have patterned/details on the back (or front) pages. But one that I do like, even if I don’t like the book, is Jay Kristoff’sNevernight‘. I love galaxy and star patterns and this is done in a subtle black and white format, enough to give it detail but not be overpowering.

 

 


5. Best map.

20170605_115511

Now whilst I own a lot of books that do indeed include maps none of them are massively impressive, as it is though I decided to go with this Blackcliff Academy map that was in ‘An Ember in the Ashes‘ by Sabaa Tahir.

This is actually one of 2 maps included in the book and that’s what I like about it. When you have a big chunk of a story focused in one particular area it’s nice to have a map specific to just that area… another example would be the additional Ice Court map in ‘Six of Crows‘ by Leigh Bardugo.

 


6. Best naked hardback.

20170605_115544

 

The UK hardback editions of ‘Caraval‘ by Stephanie Garber are gorgeous, there was a possibility of 5 designs and the one I got was the clock. To be frank I would have been happy with any of them and whilst the tent design is probably my favourite… the clock design is still up there in the ranks.

It’s simplistic but relevant to the book.

 


7. Best back cover.

20170605_124440

 

 

The new UK editions of the ‘Harry Potter‘ series by J.K. Rowling are so beautiful and I adore the little images on the backs of each cover… the art style on these editions, both on the front and back covers are really awesomely done.

 

 


8. Best chapter headers.

20170605_120053

 

 

Now I’ve yet to read ‘Stalking Jack the Ripper‘ by Kerri Maniscalco but I adore the premise of it. I’ve heard nothing but great things and frankly I’m loving the way its set out… including the chapter headers. The simplistic splash of blood I’m assuming is to the point and relevant to the book. It doesn’t look out of place in the slightest.

 

 


9. Best illustrations.

20170605_120236

 

 

I think if I owned the illustrated editions of the Harry Potter series they’d probably have a place here… but as it is I don’t own them (yet!) so for the best illustrations category I’ve chosen ‘The complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales‘ by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. This edition is the Knickerbocker Classics edition and it’s filled with wonderful illustrations showcasing some of the best Grimm’s tales there are.

 


10. Best spine.

20170605_120408

 

There is no doubt I own some books with some wonderful spines but for some reason I always come back to ‘The Sin Easters Daughter‘ by Melinda Salisbury. Something about the colours and font combine so well and for me personally it just looks for simple but stunning.

Other honorable mentions would be ‘The Raven Boys‘, ‘Harry Potter‘, ‘Rebel of the Sands‘ and ‘Nevernight‘ to name just a few.


11. Favourite cover on your shelves.

And finally we have my favourite covers… to be honest I own a lot of books with stunning covers and pictured above is just a selection that I could of mentioned…. ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone‘ by J.K.Rowling, ‘Shiver‘ by Maggie Stiefvater and ‘Furthermore‘ by Tahereh Mafi. Others I could of included…. ‘Spellslinger‘ by Sebastien De Castell, the Puffin in Bloom edition of ‘Anne of Green Gables‘ by L.M.Montgomery and ‘Red Queen‘ by Victoria Aveyard… this again is just a selection.

As it is I’m a total cover buy kinda girl… I see a pretty cover and I instantly want the book. There are some stunning covers out and it’s hard not to buy them all… maybe one day I’ll be able to own a whole personal library but as it is I’ve got to be at least a little selective in my choices!


And that’s a wrap!

Hope you enjoyed this post guys and let me know down below what some of your favourite covers are?


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

5 thoughts on “[Book Tag] The ‘Aesthetically Pleasing’ Book Tag

    • mediashadowreads says:

      All of the Puffin editions are gorgeous tbh but Anne of Green Gables is the one that stands out most for me.. plus its the only one I own so far!

      But yeah, I’m a total cover buyer… I’m lucky I don’t always have the money to buy whatever books I wanted otherwise I’d probably have a room full of books that I probably wouldn’t get round to reading until I’m 80 or something XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

