[Meme] WWW Wednesdays (July 12th 2017)

tagbgwww

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam over at ‘Taking On A World of Words‘. To participate in this meme all you have to do if answer the 3 questions listed below (the 3 W’s) and then post the link to your post in Sam’s comments – don’t have a blog? Well you can still participate by simply commenting on Sam’s post! I hope you all enjoy!


img_1384-0

 

The 3 W’s;

# What are you currently reading?
# What did you recently finish reading?
# What do you think you’ll read next?

 

 

 


18190302Currently reading;

I’m currently a small way into Rick Riordan’sPercy Jackson and the Lightning Thief‘.I’m buddy reading it with a good friend of mine Suzanne (BookMarvel) and we’re spending the whole month of July slowly going through it.

We’re both WELL aware of how late we are to this series and that’s one of the reasons we’re buddy reading it, we’re hoping we can keep each other motivated and eventually catch up to everyone else…. although that might take some time!

Having watched the Percy Jackson movie I’m semi aware of whats going on and whilst the book is actually rather different from the movie I’m enjoying getting into more detail!


34382011

Recently finished;

I recently finished two books and one of them was ‘See How They Lie‘ by Sue Wallman. A YA thriller… not particularly a genre I stray towards at all but I’ll be honest the cover gripped me massively!

Unfortunately this book left me feeling a little underwhelmed… the reasons of which I go into more detail about in my full review… which you can find HERE.

Star rating; 🌟🌟 (and a half)

25752041

The second novel I recently finished was ‘Royal Bastards‘ by Andrew Shvarts. This book is dubbed as a ‘Game of Thrones’ style book but for teens. I could definitely some of those elements but I actually found ‘Royal Bastards’ to have enough of its own style to hold it’s own… it has a bit of everything… fantasy, romance, adventure, friendship, action…

I ended up really enjoying this book and genuinely can’t wait for the second novel to come out indeed! You can see my full review HERE.

Star rating; 🌟🌟🌟🌟 (and a half)


29939048Reading next;

As it is I don’t generally like to have set TBR lists made because half the time I don’t stick to them… there is however one book which I got in my most recent ‘Fairyloot‘ box that I’m itching to read… and I’m not entirely sure why!

Said book is ‘Roar‘ by Cora Carmack. First things first… gorgeous cover… I’m such a cover lover and I know I know… I shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but sometimes I just can’t help myself. The premise of this book sounds really interesting though and essentially right up my alley so I’m looking forward to getting round to it… after all fantasy is my biggest love. I’ve heard that it’s gotten mixed reviews but never the less I’ll be heading into it with an open mind sometime very soon.

Roar‘ synopsis;

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. 

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.


And that’s a wrap guys! Remember to check out Sam’s post and feel free to leave a comment down below telling me what you’re currently reading, what you’ve read recently and what you’ll be reading next! Also feel free to let me know your opinions on the books I’ve mentioned above and until next time…

See ya!


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

8 thoughts on “[Meme] WWW Wednesdays (July 12th 2017)

    • mediashadowreads says:

      It does sound very interesting to be honest, I’m a sucker for fantasy so I’m hoping Roar will be a good read… even if it’s not at least I can use it for bookstagram, the cover is gorgeous after all!

      Like

    • mediashadowreads says:

      I know Percy Jackson is a well loved series so I’m definitely looking forward to reading the series and for Royal Bastards… it was actually a really good novel, it genuinely had a little bit of everything! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

