[Book Tag] The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

tagmybfot.png

Do you know what… I genuinely can’t believe how little I’ve actually read this first half of the year… I’m behind on my GoodReads goal and in reality I haven’t read a lot… but I’m doing this tag because… why the hell not!? I wasn’t actually tagged to do it by anyone but I’ve seen others posts and figured it looked fun! Hey ho… let us begin shall we! 😀


1] Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?
31134210

 

Frostblood‘ by Elly Blake

Man there was just something about this book I just loved… I loved the characters, the setting, the story line… I love it all. I’m basically fantasy trash and this is probably your typical ya fantasy novel… but that’s exactly why I loved it.

 

 


2] Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?
23766634

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin‘ by Sarah J. Maas

Now.. I haven’t read a massive amount of sequels this year so I didn’t have a massive amount of choice in the matter but… ACOWAR takes the cake on this occasion. Whilst this book didn’t live up to ACOMAF for me… that was a tough challenge anyhow… I still loved it massively and I’m so glad to have read this series!

 


3] New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
28458598

 

When Dimple met Rishi‘ by Sandhya Menon

This book is actually one I’m on the fence about getting and reading… I’ve heard so so so many good things about it and I know a lot of people love this book. That fact alone is making me want to read this book… but also at the same time it’s making me want to avoid it… does that make sense?!

 


4] Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
29385546
33877168Warcross‘ by Marie Lu & ‘Fireblood‘ by Elly Blake

I couldn’t pick just one. I just couldn’t. I keep seeing ‘Warcross’ around (the arcs) and it’s just making me even more interested… as for ‘Fireblood’… well… look above… self explanatory really!

 


5] Biggest disappointment.
32827036

 

Ink‘ by Alice Broadway

I just did not get on with this book at all… I’m not massively sure how I manage to finish it but I did and I was so disappointed in it. I’d heard some amazing things but… I just couldn’t share the sentiment unfortunately.

 

 


6] Biggest surprise.
30964236

Caraval‘ by Stephanie Garber

I was a bit late to the party with this book if I’m honest and I was a bit scared to go into it after hearing such high praise for it… my expectations were raised and I often find when that happens that the book in questions just doesn’t live up to the hype. This book however… definitely did! I loved it!

 

 


7] Favourite new author (Debut or new to you).
33787347

Sebastien De Castell

Sebastien isn’t a newly debuted author but ‘Spellslinger’ was the first novel of his I read and I happened to love it. The world he’d created and the characters too were just amazing! I was massively impressed and I’m not eagerly awaiting the release of the ‘Spellslinger’ sequel!

 

 


8] Newest fictional crush.

Daemon’ (Obsidian), ‘Kellen’ (Spellslinger) and ‘Arcus’ (Frostblood)

I really don’t need to say much… each of these characters couldn’t be more different… but I fell in love with each of them anyway!


9] Newest favourite character.
25752041

 

Lyriana

I loved Lyriana in ‘Royal Bastards’ simply because of the massive amount of growth she went through in this book. Character development is such an important point in novels and with Lyriana is was most certainly done well!

 

 


10] Book that made you cry.
23766634

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin‘ by Sarah J. Maas

Lets just say there is one scene in this book I was crying my eyes out… I was on the border of preparing to riot. If you’ve read this book you may be able to tell me what scene I’m on about but otherwise I don’t want to risk spoiling it for anyone… but yes… I had my heart ripped out more than once with this book… this whole series actually!

 


11] Book that made you happy.
34790383

 

Geekerella‘ by Ashley Poston

This book is basically light and fluffy… for the most part… and I had my fair share of moments of pure content and happiness and laughter…

 

 


12] Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year.
20893527

 

Anne of Green Gables‘ by L.M. Montgomery

This is the Puffin Classics cover of ‘Anne of Green Gables’ and it is just pure gorgeous… I adore it… it’s beyond cute! And that’s coming from someone who generally prefers their more ‘epic’ fantasy based covers!

 

 


13] What books do you need to read by the end of this year?
22841994

 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone‘ by J.K. Rowling

I can’t even defend myself with this one… I never read it as a child and to this day have never gotten round to it… but I want to start it this year for sure…

Please don’t kill me!

 


14] Favourite book community member (Blogger, booktuber, bookstagrammer).

I could genuinely name so so many people for this but I’m going to use this opportunity to give a shout out to a bunch of lovely ladies, who are fellow bookstagrammers, who have been the most amazing group of friends and who I’ve had some amazing conversations with… if you ever want to just chat and get support or just fan girl then these are your girls!

Suzanne @bookmarvel
Melissa @thorns_.and._roses
Amanda @allthistimealways
Sophie @lostinabookishcollection
Maliha @literary_musings


And so that is a wrap guys! I hope you enjoyed this post and feel free to leave a comment down below letting me know what your first half of the year wrap is looking like! Let me know what books would answer the questions for you and whether or not you agree with some of my statements! Just come and have a chat if you so wish… always here!


Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0 tumblr-icon 1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc box-128

Leave a Reply

