A Very Cautious October TBR (& First Thoughts)

tagbgocttbr.png

So… as you can tell by the title this is going to be my October TBR… but an extremely cautious one. To those of you that have been paying attention, or if you’ve read my previous real life blog post a couple days ago, you’d of noticed that I haven’t been posting here much this year. And the main reason is because of a major reading, photography and blogging slump… I pretty much abandoned everything for the last bit of last year and for the majority of this year so far. As it is the reading urges have only just come back and I’ve actually managed to start reading again for the first time in months! It’s a miracle!

So yeah… I’m going to share my very small TBR (plus my first thoughts) for October because frankly it’s not 100% that I’ll end up sticking to it. But I’m going to try anyway! 😊

inbetween


 


War Storm (Red Queen #4) – Victoria Aveyard 

27188596Victory comes at a price.

Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all… starting with the crown on Maven’s head.

But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolishing everything—and everyone—in his path.

War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

I’m such a big lover of this series but unfortunately my book slump hit me at the worst of times. I had this book bought and ready to go and I was looking forward to seeing how this series would conclude… but I just couldn’t even pick it up! It’s a chunky monkey of a book and I won’t lie I’m still pretty scared to pick it up but I need to finish this series and fund out what happens once and for all! Even more so after the end of the third book, I actually sided with Cal more than Mare so I’m scared to see how he’ll be treated, I love Cal… 


Shadowblack (Spellslinger #2) – Sebastien De Castell 

34913716The second book in the page-turning Spellslinger series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers.

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind. 

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help – but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold – and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it. 

Much like War Storm I’ve had this book sitting ready to go in my ebook library since it came out but I just haven’t got round to it despite absolutely loving the first book. I can’t wait to see Reichis again, he was one hell of a character in the first book and the banter between him and Kellen throughout said book was brilliant. It’ll be interesting to see if the author keeps up with that underlying humour mixed in with a bit of magic!


All The Crooked SaintsMaggie Stiefvater 

35693030Here is a thing everyone wants: a miracle.
Here is a thing everyone fears: what it takes to get one

Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado, is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle-mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars.

At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. And at the heart of this family are three cousins longing to change its future: Beatriz, the girl without feelings, who wants only to be free to examine her thoughts; Daniel, the Saint of Bicho Raro, who performs miracles for everyone but himself; and Joaquin, who spend his nights running a renegade radio station under the name Diablo Diablo.

They are all looking for a miracle. But the miracles of Bicho Raro are never quite what you expect.

This is another that I’ve had sitting on my tbr pile for a decent while.. it was initially the cover and the hype that pushed me into getting it but I’ll be honest, I don’t really know much about it other than what’s on the blurb. But.. I think I’m ready to finally tackle it never the less! I’m curious of Stiefvater’s writing style as well… I briefly remember reading the first Raven Boys book way back when and not particularly loving it… but not hating it either. So this should be interesting… I mean it certainly sounds interesting!!


 

And that’s a wrap on my rather small TBR list for October, I’d love to say I’ll read more but as I’ve only just started back up again I’m not holding myself too highly! 😂 That and the fact that War Storm could represent 2 books for all I care… it’s a mammoth! 😂😂

Until next time! x

inbetween

Where to find me;
instagram12n-1-web  twitter-logo-icon-transparent_0  tumblr-icon  1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc  box-128

inbetween

Leave a comment