[REVIEW] ONE DARK WINDOW BY RACHEL GILLIG

Book info ⭐
Name: One Dark Window
Author: Rachel Gillig
Release Date: September 27th 2022
Edition: UK Fairyloot Hardcover
Pages: 394
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Horror, Gothic

Synopsis:

Elspeth needs a monster. The monster might be her.

Elspeth Spindle needs more than luck to stay safe in the eerie, mist-locked kingdom she calls home–she needs a monster. She calls him the Nightmare, an ancient, mercurial spirit trapped in her head. He protects her. He keeps her secrets. But nothing comes for free, especially magic.

When Elspeth meets a mysterious highwayman on the forest road, her life takes a drastic turn. Thrust into a world of shadow and deception, she joins a dangerous quest to cure the kingdom of the dark magic infecting it. Except the highwayman just so happens to be the King’s own nephew, Captain of the Destriers…and guilty of high treason.

He and Elspeth have until Solstice to gather twelve Providence Cards–the keys to the cure. But as the stakes heighten and their undeniable attraction intensifies, Elspeth is forced to face her darkest secret yet: the Nightmare is slowly, darkly, taking over her mind. And she might not be able to stop him.

MY REVIEW;

I rated this book 4.5/5 stars!

When your favourite character ends up being the demon inside someones head!

This book surprised me. I was honestly expecting more horror and that’s honestly not really my vibe so I was wary starting it, but it wasn’t as bloody as I was expecting (I don’t know why I was thinking it would be really dark in the first place to be honest..). It felt more like a dark fairytale, it had that whimsical element but it wasn’t too ‘wishy washy’, the balance felt pretty much there.

The magic system was solid, it wasn’t ridiculously complex or overpowering, it was quick to understand and easy to follow. The idea that magic could only be sought from a deck of cards wasn’t something I’ve personally seen before, I really enjoyed learning about that aspect of the world.

My magic moves. My magic bites. My magic soothes. My magic frights. You are young and not so bold. I am unflinching – five hundred years old

The origins of the sickness could of done with a little more fleshing out for me but to be honest it really didn’t take away from the story, it was such a small part of it after all. The plot was relatively well thought out, again, just easy to follow. Things didn’t tend to go off the beaten path which I greatly appreciated and something which fantasy can sometimes be guilty of, it definitely wasn’t the case here.

I would of liked a map to help with the world building though, that was one element that felt a little skipped over at times. The notion that the kingdom is locked in this magic induced mist.. but you can survive the mist with talismans.. but the kingdoms ‘harvest’ is struggling… so why not use the talismans to get to other kingdoms to trade? Maybe I skipped over something but that did throw a question mark into the loop for me.

What’s yours is mine when the shadows draw near. You asked for my help – and now I am here. With your eyes I do see, with your ears I do hear. There’s no going back – this is the payment, my dear

The writing itself was great though and I got on really well with it, I didn’t find myself straying or getting distracted. Could of done with a little more connection with the main characters but again that might just be because the Nightmare was so sassy with his rhythm and rhymes that I was completely taken with his character the majority of the time. I got very excited with the prospect we’d be getting more of the Nightmare in the next book, I’m interested to see how he interacts with the rest of the characters.

Until next time.

Shannon ☺️

One thought on “[REVIEW] ONE DARK WINDOW BY RACHEL GILLIG

Leave a comment